Red Rose/Black Floral Purse

red-rose/black floral purse unfinished

red-rose/black floral purse unfinished

I started making myself this small purse, and while its unfinished, I wanted to share this with you. I have been considering making a pearl beaded handle, but have yet to commit to it. The red roses are actually two pockets and edged in this beautiful antique cream lace that I have been  referring to as buttermilk. I received the lace as a gift and  was found in a small shop in  Wisconsin along with 10 yards of forest green lace that you will be seeing a lot of soon.  The lining is a tiny white dot on a red background. I did a top stitching in an apple green thread. My favorite is the little red rose decorative button, its the cherry on top.

This bag is very similar to the first project I ever tried to sew on a machine, I completely butchered  it;  I wanted to quit but my husband encouraged me to finish no matter what it looked like, so I could see how far I  had come once I was better at sewing. I cried during  most of it with him at my side. He was so right when I came across that first bag recently I was amazed. that’s when I decided to make a new one, I altered it greatly cause the other was too small, and pockets that were mostly decorative. I’m very happy with this new one.

I highly suggest if you have had a project that almost defeated you ( or did )  to take it out, and look at how far your skills have come, and possibly try it again, at the very worst you can learn from it

8 thoughts on “Red Rose/Black Floral Purse

  1. FunkyB says:

    I love that purse! It’s so cheerful! Also, I love your advice on looking back at the first projects to see how far you’ve come. You have an incredible husband to have encouraged and supported you through that. Great job to both of you!

    Like

  2. Great advice and such a sweet bag!

    Like

  3. Sarah says:

    This is really lovely. Great job!

    Like

  4. Miranda says:

    It’s adorable! Even unfinished. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment